Sunday, June 23, 2024
104 F

Where Information Sparks Brilliance

HomeSportsIndia crush Sri Lanka to secure 8th Asia Cup title

India crush Sri Lanka to secure 8th Asia Cup title

India´s Shubman Gill (centre) and his teammate Ishan Kishan celebrate their win at the end of the Asia Cup 2023 ODI final between India and Sri Lanka at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on September 17, 2023. — AFP   

India blew away Sri Lanka in the Asia Cup 2023 final on Sunday, first limiting the hosts to a mere 50 runs followed up by a fast-paced chase to secure their eighth Asia Cup title.

Earlier in the day, Sri Lanka after winning the toss opted to bat first, however, India’s Mohammad Siraj blew away the hosts by taking six wickets — four of which came in a single over — while conceding only 21 runs.

The match started with a delay of 40 minutes due to rain. The collapse started with Jasprit Bumrah removing Kusal Perera in the first over the game.

After the first wicket, it was all about Mohammad Siraj, who completed his fifer in his first three overs of the spell.

Apart from Siraj’s six-wicket haul, Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah bagged three and one wickets each, leaving Sri Lanka bowled out at 50 in 15.2 overs.

Only two Sri Lankan batters managed to get into double figures, with Dushan Hemantha scoring an unbeaten 13 and Kusal Mendis adding another 17 runs.

This is the lowest total in the history of Asia Cup (ODI) history since the record was previously held by Bangladesh, who scored 87 runs against Pakistan back in 2000.

In response, Blue Shirts sailed through the 51-run target and completed the chase in 6.1 overs with 10 wickets in hand.

India’s openers Ishan Kishan and Shubman Gill scored 23 and 27 runs respectively.

Playing XI

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul (wk), Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis (wk), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka (c), Dunith Wellalage, Dushan Hemantha, Pramod Madushan, Matheesha Pathirana

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular


Recent Comments